### **Show 181 Annotations: 60-Year Musical Journey, 1963-2023**

## Herb Alpert's Tijuana Brass – Surfin' Señorita (2:12) (1963)

*Volume 2* – 1 of 3 albums using HATB moniker instead of "& the Tijuana Brass" Written by A&M: Herb Alpert & Jerry Moss

## Wes Montgomery – Wind Song (2:21) (1968) (followed by Joe Bertie Liner)

Down Here on the Ground - originally a TJB song, "For Carlos," on S.R.O. ('66)

Written by Herb/John Pisano (guitar)/Nick Ceroli (drums) – Paul Francis Webster/Neil Larsen also credited on Wes version; unsure why – *DHOTG* recorded at legendary Van Gelder Studio in Englewood Cliffs, NJ Don Sebesky, arr./cond. – Wes, elec. gtr. / Ron Carter, ac. bass / *Herbie* Hancock, piano/harpsichord? / Grady Tate (*Schoolhouse Rock!*), drums / Ray Barretto (Charanga Moderna), percussion / Mike Mainieri, vibraphone / George Ricci, cello / Emanuel Vardi, viola / Gene Orloff/Raoul Poliakin, violin / Flute/oboe: Hubert Laws/George *Marge*/Romeo Penque

# McCoy Tyner – Song of the New World (6:50) (1973)

Title track – McCoy, writer/piano / Hubert Laws, piccolo/flute / Sonny Fortune, flute / Juini Booth, ac. bass / Alphonse Mouzon, drums / William Fischer, conductor / 6 violinists including Sanford Allen / Julian Barber/Alfred Brown, viola / Kermit Moore/Ronald Lipscomb, cello

### Jean-Luc Ponty – Puppets' Dance (3:38) (1978)

Cosmic Messenger – JLP, writer/orchestrator/5-string electric violin/organ / Allan Zavod, electric piano / Peter Maunu/Joaquin Lievano, elec. guitars / Ralphe Armstrong, elec. bass / Casey Scheurell, drums/percussion

## **Casiopea – Dazzling (4:18) (1983)**

*Photographs* – Issei Noro, writer/electric guitar/vocals / Minoru Mukaiya, keyboards / Tetsuo Sakurai, bass / Akira *Jimbo*, drums/percussion

### Special EFX – Thy Kingdom Come (6:20) (1988)

Double Feature – Chieli Minucci, writer/acoustic & electric guitars/tape loop / George Jinda, percussion / Michael Bearden, keyboards / Robbie Kondor, keyboard melody / Mark Egan, bass / Omar Hakim, drums

### **Dan Siegel – The Getaway (4:27) (1993)**

Title track – Dan, writer/piano/keyboards / Tollak Ollestad, harmonica / Boney James, tenor sax / Mike Miller, electric guitar / Dwayne "Smitty" Smith, bass, Randy Drake, drums / Lenny Castro, percussion

### Ramsey Lewis – Fire and Rain (4:30) (1998) – not James Taylor composition

Dance of the <u>Soul</u> – LW, drum programming on earlier track – Steve Hardeman, also on vocals? Written by Ramsey (piano)/*Frayne* Lewis (son/producer)/Kevin Randolph (keyboards)/Lambert Waldrip Charles Webb, bass / Oscar Seaton, drums / Alejo Poveda, percussion / Donica Henderson, vocals

**Kirk Whalum – Same Ole Love (4:24) (1998)** – Anita Baker cover – full title: "... (365 Days a Year)" *For You* – Written by Darryl K. Roberts/Marilyn Mcleod for Anita's *Rapture* ('86) – single in Feb. '87 #8 on Billboard Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs, #6 on Adult Contemporary Tracks, #44 on Hot 100; all U.S. Kirk Whalum, tenor sax / Gregg Karukas, Rhodes / Tim Heintz, keyboards / Tony Maiden, electric guitar / Alex Al, bass / Lil' *John* Roberts, drums / Paulinho da Costa, percussion / *Paul* Brown, programming/producer

### Bernie Williams – Samba Novo (1:46, over by 1:44) (2003)

The Journey Within – Bernie, solo acoustic guitar

Cover of Brazilian guitarist Baden Powell, based on significantly faster 1974 live recording

### Acoustic Alchemy – Shelter Island Drive (5:55, under at 5:49) (2003)

Radio Contact – Chuck Loeb, regular acoustic guitar / Frank Felix, bass / Greg Grainger, drums (cont'd below) Written by Greg Carmichael (nyl. str. gtr.)/Miles Gilderdale (steel str. gtr./vocals)/Jamie Norton (keyboards) Mario Argandoña, perc. / Eddie M, alto sax solo on fadeout – remember playing on MCS around time of release

## **Yellowjackets – 3 Circles (7:32) (2008)**

*Lifecycle* – written collectively by group: Russell Ferrante, piano/keyboards / Jimmy Haslip, electric bass / Bob Mintzer, tenor sax / Marcus Baylor, drums // special guest: Mike Stern, electric guitar

### David Benoit - Song for My Father (3:23) (2008) - Horace Silver Quintet cover

Heroes – Covers of David's musical inspirations, plus one original

SFMF was title track to the HSQ's 1965 album, another Van Gelder Studio recording – cover art featured Horace's father, John Tavares Silver, whom track was dedicated to (obviously) – liner notes: "My mother was of Irish and Negro (say African American) descent, my father of Portuguese origin. He was born on the island of Maio, one of the Cape Verde Islands." – has 24-bar AAB construction and is in 4/4 time – composed in F minor – has bossa nova feel, bass ostinato – contains only four chords: Fm9 - Eb9 - Db9 - C9 – uses even eighth notes, not swing eighths – Horace composed SFMF while attempting to use bossa nova rhythm he observed on quintet's trip to Brazil – melody inspired by old Cape Verdean folk music he heard from his father John – opening bass piano notes borrowed by Steely Dan for '74 (there's that year again) song "Rikki Don't Lose That Number"

David Benoit, piano / David Hughes, acoustic bass / Jamey Tate (no relation), drums / Brad Dutz, percussion

# Wayman Tisdale - Throwin' It Down (3:54) (2008)

Rebound – Jason Rahn, trumpets/flugelhorn in horn section / Frank Selman, electric guitar (cont'd below) Wr. by WT (lead bass)/Darren Rahn (ft.)(prod./rec./eng./t-sax/Rhodes/keybs./drum prog./horn sec. saxes & arr.) Mel Brown, rhythm bass with synth bass pedal effect – both basses electric

### Elan Trotman – Bridgetown to Beantown (6:19) (2013)

Tropicality – born/raised in Barbados, went to Berklee Coll. of Music in Boston, now assoc. prof. in ens. dept. Written/arranged by Elan (tenor sax/flute)/Mark Copeland (didn't play) – featuring Jeff Lorber, keyboards Serghio *Jansen*, ac. guitar / Alex Al, elec. bass (3) / Tony *Moore*, drums / *Luis* Conte, percussion (steel pans?)

### Marion Meadows – Curves (4:03) (2013)

*Whisper* – written by only two performers: Marion Meadows, soprano sax/vocals? / Carlo Pennisi, keyboards/electric guitar/bass?/drum & percussion programming/producer/engineer/mixer)

#### Brian Simpson – D'Groove (4:39) (2013) (followed by Gerald Albright Drop)

Just What You Need – BS, writer/piano/keyboards / featuring Gerald Albright, tenor sax / Ron King, trumpet / Gerey Johnson, guitar (with a G) / Alex Al, bass (w/KW earlier) / Michael White, drums / Brian Kilgore, perc.

#### Paul Brown – Blues for Jeff (3:43) (2018) – tribute to Jeff Golub

<u>Uptown</u> <u>Blues</u> – written by Paul (guitar)/Tommy Kay (rhythm guitar) // Marco Basci, piano/keyboards / Roberto Vally, bass / Gorden Campbell, drums / Lenny Castro, percussion (last hour with Dan Siegel) // Horn section: Lee Thornburg, trumpet/horn arrangement / Greg Vail, sax (tenor solo on fadeout) Album features unrelated Nashville keyboardist Brother (Bro) Paul Brown – used to think it was guitarist Paul under a pseudonym because he was on too many instruments for a given track – Paul another KW returnee

## Lisa Hilton – Twists of Fate (3:37) (2018)

Oasis – "Something serving as a refuge or relief" – Lisa, writer/piano / Luques Curtis, acoustic bass / Mark Whitfield Jr., drums – father was on lone Special EFX album without Chieli Minucci: Here to Stay (1997)

## Nick Colionne – Be Urself (4:13) (2018)

Just Being Me – written by only two players: Nick, guitar / Chris "Big Dog" Davis, keyboards/synth bass/drum programming/producer/mixer

### The Jeff Lorber Fusion – The Drop (3:53, over at 3:50) (2023)

Title track – Jeff, writer/piano/Rhodes/keyboards/rhythm guitar / Paul Jackson Jr., rhythm guitar / Randal Clark, alto sax / Cornelius Mims, bass (not Jimmy Haslip, who otherwise produced album with Jeff) / Gary Novak, drums / David Mann, horn arrangement and performance (horn section)